Skip to main content

Five Curry Alumni Appointed to Second Iteration of Va. SOL Innovation Committee


Five Curry School alumni are among the newly appointed members of the Standards of Learning (SOL) Innovation Committee, announced yesterday by Virginia Governor McAuliffe.

• Dr. Oliver McBride (M.Ed ’73; Ed.D. ‘77 Soc Studies Ed) of Hillsville, retired superintendent, Carroll County Public Schools
• Laurie McCullough (M.Ed. ’79, Ed.D. ’83 C&I) of Charlottesville, Director, Virginia Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development
• Dr. Jennifer Parish (M.T. ‘90 Elem Ed) of Poquoson, Superintendent, Poquoson City Public Schools
• Dr. Stewart Roberson (B.S. ’77, M.Ed. ‘81, Ed.D. ‘87 Admin & Supv) of Richmond, Chairman, President, Moseley Architects
• Dr. Jamelle Wilson (M.T. ‘91; Ed.D. ’02 Admin & Supv) of Richmond, Dean of the School of Professional and Continuing Studies, University of Richmond

The SOL Innovation Committee will continue to provide recommendations in accordance with Governor McAuliffe’s call to “be bold” when rethinking SOL assessments and innovation in the K-12 system, according to a press release from the governor’s office.

The first SOL Innovation Committee was named in summer 2014 and included seven Curry alumni. Stewart Roberson, who chaired the inaugural committee was reappointed, as was Laurie McCullough. Jamelle Wilson also serves on the Curry School of Education Foundation board of directors.

“I am proud that the inaugural members of the SOL Innovation Committee helped reshape Virginia’s approach to public education, and I am confident our new members will bring fresh perspectives to this vital work,” said Secretary of Education Anne Holton.

The committee member terms take effect as of July 1, 2016.

Connect With Us On: