The Curry School Foundation board of directors is a diverse and dynamic group of professionals who have committed themselves as fundraisers and ambassadors of the School, promoting Curry’s work among their networks of colleagues and acquaintances. The cumulative expertise of this board ensures that your gift is being used to its best advantage to advance the growth of the Curry School and the success of its students.

Common Characteristics of the Board:

  1. They are passionate about universal accessibility to excellent education.
  2. They are believers in the mission and capability of the Curry School.
  3. They are generous donors to the Curry School Foundation.

To learn more about the Foundation Board contact Mike Cashman, Executive Director

Board Members




Richard R. Abidin, Treasurer
Charlottesville, VA

Ragan P. Folan, Vice Chair
Winston Salem, NC

Paulette G. Katzenbach, Chair
Los Angeles, CA

William A. Marr, Jr., Vice Chair
Fairfax, VA

Merrill Woodriff, Secretary
Charlottesville, VA


Michael B. Baughan
Winston-Salem, NC

Melanie Biermann
Free Union, VA

Peter C. Brooks
Charlottesville, VA

Courtney Brown
Zionsville, IN

Jennifer Chiu
Faculty Representative

Kari Couling
Charlottesville, VA

Martha Downer-Assaf
Atlanta, GA

Douglas Dunnan
Rye, NY

Trisha Elcan
Nashville, TN

David M. Foster
Arlington, VA

Terry Hanlon
Student Representative

Carla S. Harrell, BOV Representative
Richmond, VA

Iran Hopkins
Beverly Hills, CA

Jennifer Hunter
Richmond, VA

Caroline Keck
Los Angeles, CA

Stephen M. Keck
Los Angeles, CA

Peter Kelly
Los Angeles, CA

Christine Lotze
Madison, NJ

Mark Luellen, President’s Representative
UVA Vice President for Advancement

Michael Marino
New York, NY

Kristin Merlo
Seattle, WA

Elizabeth B. Reichert
Charlottesville, VA

Xavier R. Richardson
Fredericksburg, VA

Andrew J. Rotherham
Washington, DC

Peter Scaturro
Bedford, NY

Les Snead
Los Angeles, CA

W. McIlwaine Thompson, Jr.
Charlottesville, VA

Stephanie van Hover
Faculty Representative

Emeritus Members

Daniel M. Meyers
Boston, MA

Sandra F. Stern
Englewood, NJ


Robert C. Pianta
Dean and University Professor

T. Michael Cashman
Executive Director

Justin B. Thompson
Associate Dean for Management & Planning